In this section

Share this page

Apprenticeship Qualifications and Levels

casual guy

How do they work?


There are three levels of apprenticeship:

  • Intermediate (Level 2)
  • Advanced (Level 3)
  • Higher (Level 4)

An apprentice can enter at each level or progress through from one level to the next. The entry requirements may differ between each level and each apprenticeship contains a number of component parts.


Levels and qualifications

Information on Apprenticeship Qualifications

The following two elements are in each framework, at all levels:

PDS - Competence  


Skills and competence are observed on the job, so an apprentice's daily outputs helps them to qualify.

An assessor will come into the workplace regularly to observe and work with the apprentice during the length of the apprenticeship programme.

PDS - Knowledge  


Apprentices develop the knowledge that will underpin their specific apprenticeship. Again this is often delivered and assessed on the job.

At Level 4 (Higher) this often uses a professional qualication or degree.

The next three elements may vary between different apprenticeship frameworks and levels:

PDS - Employee rights


ERR are an important part of ensuring that apprenticees are fully prepared for employment in their chosen role.

They cover the rights and responsibilities of the workers (including equal opportunities legislation). 

PDS - Personal learning


Essential skills required for learning and life are highlighted in this skills framework.

These 6 skills are: Independent Enquirer, Team Worker, Effective Participant, Self-Manager, Reflective Learner and Creative Thinker.

PDS - Function skills


Functional Skills are practical skills in English, Information and Communications Technology (ICT) and Mathematics that allow individuals to work confidently, effectively and independently in life. 

If you are interested in hearing more about our apprenticeship programmes call our team on 01672 861 073 or email